Why Stat Girl?

I’ve been thinking for a while about starting a blog about how I got to be where I am, about what I do every day, and why I’m so lucky to do it. There are many women scientists who have blogs about balancing work and family, about the difficulties of being a woman in the sciences, even about shoes. And many are good, and I enjoy reading them. So why spend my time, which let’s face  it, is already in short order, when there are so many others? So that I can learn who I am. I wear many different hats in my life. I am a mother of two wonderful, unique, fun, smart, silly children. I am the wife of a brilliant scientist-teacher, who loves me unconditionally (which is great given what a pain in the ass I can be). I am a daughter of fabulous parents who raised me to be my own person, a lesson I hope to pass on to my children. I am a biostatistician, a collaborative scientist who works with a lot of other scientists to help them understand their data better. I am a teacher, a mentor, who strives to help my students learn to become independent scientists in their own right. All of these roles leave little time for me to just be me. And so, with this blog, I hope to explore all of these roles, how they each contribute a little bit to who I am, and how together they comprise this single individual who lives a fantastic life every day.

One thought on “Why Stat Girl?

Leave a Reply

